Way Out and Up We Go

In a month’s time, I will be leaving the Olathe Public Library and starting as a Web Content Developer at the Johnson County Library.

I’m not unhappy at OPL. Far from it. But when the opportunity comes up to work with Erica Reynolds and her dynamic Web Content team, you’d better believe I’m going to take it. Honestly, I’m sad to leave OPL. But I’m also horribly excited about this new job. And since OPL and JCL work together, and since my current place of work will still be my local library, it’s not at all like this is goodbye. It’s more like a slight dimensional shift in the space-time continuum.

19 thoughts on “Way Out and Up We Go

  1. Josh, congratulations. I wish you the best at JoCo. My guess is that you will miss the day-to-day contact with users you enjoyed at OPL, but hopefully you will not be entirely divorced from the public in your new position.

  2. The face-to-face contact with users was one of the hard choices to make, you’re right. But I’ve been assured that if I want to pull some shifts out on the floor, dealing with the roar of the crowd, I can.

    Thank you, Mickey!

  3. Congrats, Josh! As one who has shifted jobs recently, I can relate.

  4. Congratulations, Josh! I know you’re going to be great at the new position, working with a good bunch of people.

  5. Gosh, Josh! Congratulations on your new job.

    (I’ve always wanted to say “Gosh, Josh” and this seemed a better time than most.)

    Sounds like you’ll really get to embrace your inner geek at this new job. Have fun!

  6. Congrats on the new gig, Josh!

    May you have fun developing lots of cool web content.

  7. “Embrace your inner geek” sounds like a euphemism.

    So yes, have fun embracing that geek! Congrats!

  8. Welcome to the team!

  9. Thanks, Kelly!

    And thanks to the rest of you for your well-wishes.

    As for embracing my inner geek…I’m not sure I know how to let go of my inner geek, so embracing it isn’t a problem.

  10. OMG! Congratulations! I saw that job ad and it looked incredibly cool. I’m so glad that someone who is also very cool and very deserving got it! Good for you, Josh.

  11. Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!

  12. ch-ch-ch-ch-changes…
    all the best to you, in this exciting new challenge..

  13. Congratulations Josh!! It sounds like a perfect fit, all the best to you 🙂

  14. Way to go! Congratulations!

  15. Congrats, Josh!! I hope you will be very happy in your new position.

  16. Coolness… I think you’ll really enjoy your new digs! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

