Swimming Them So Well

I let my ALA membership lapse a while ago, so I have no idea if the March issue of American Libraries is in people’s hands yet, but if it is, you may have seen that the cover story is on librarian bloggers–and I’m one of the bibliobloggers in the article. Back in January, I got an email request to answer some questions and be included in the article. I was incredibly surprised and flattered, but I had no idea which other bloggers would be in the article. Kathleen de la Pena McCook, also in the article, posted about it with a list of the bloggers interviewed and…Holy Macaroni! I’m in there with Jessamyn West, Sarah Houghton-Jan and Jenny Levine! They’re well-known, well-respected, well-connected library professionals and bloggers. Me? I’m just some two-bit wiseacre with a keyboard and a website. I feel like Marlin swimming with the turtles on the EAC. Not that Jessamyn, Sarah and Jenny are turtlish in any way, it’s just, well, next to them I feel sort of small and inexperienced. And orange.

At any rate, I’m very excited to be included in this article (although I don’t know how much of what I said was included, and if what I said makes me sound like a doofus) and this group (which also includes brilliant bloggers Rochelle Hartman and Nicole Engard, more awesome company for me). If the article has led you to my blog, welcome! Feel free to stick around for a while. Leave me a comment of two if’n you feel like it. Try the corned beef, it’s very good this week.

5 thoughts on “Swimming Them So Well

  1. Well… someone may have told them that you are someone worth listening to. I felt strongly that an article on blogging shouldn’t just reflect the POV of the A-list bloggers. I’m just surprised that they actually listened to me!

    Wiseacres make the best bloggers. πŸ™‚

  2. Hi Josh. I’ve got around 200 library blogs in my aggregator, but only about 25 in my “library hot” folder, and yours is one of them.

    For history’s sake…I discovered you via a conversation with Jen (scruffynerf) about domain names. Popped you low down in my aggregator, then Meredith F mentioned you a couple of times, so I took more interest.

    You get to stay in the folder, however because you write interesting stuff with an honest, straighforward and distinct voice that doesn’t mince issues.

    Just thought you might like some feedback πŸ™‚

  3. Well, gee, give a guy a big head, why don’t ya!

    Seriously, thank you, both of you. That means a lot.

  4. You’ve always been an A-lister in my book, Joshua. It’s funny to me that folks think *I* am anything more than a two-bit wiseacre with a keyboard and a website. You’re definitely at the top of my list – lots of people recommend and respect you. πŸ™‚

  5. Well, alright then!

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

