Personal Matters

My blogging has really dropped off this week. I’ve been dealing with the nastiest GI bug I’ve faced in quite a while, and my wife’s battle with kidney stones got to the point where she was admitted to the hospital last night. The stone-removal procedure will be done this afternoon and she’ll be home this evening, and she will finally (knock on wood) be done with this nasty business, after four weeks of living between Annoying Discomfort and Agonizing Pain. And I will get back to, among other things, blogging.

9 thoughts on “Personal Matters

  1. Don’t worry about us – we’ll be here when you get back.

    Best of luck to you and Julie and I hope she gets of feeling better soon.

  2. Hope everything goes well.

  3. Good luck to you both. Don’t puke in the open surgical wound. Trust me.

  4. Pain sucks. RSS rules. Sending good thoughts.

  5. Thanks, everyone. My wife just got home from the hospital, and my tummy is better. So, things are getting better.

    Thinking about it some more, I didn’t write this post to apologize for not blogging, but to express a feeling of loss. I like blogging, and I’ve had things this week I’ve wanted to blog about, but other stuff has gotten in the way. But the blogging itch is begging to be scratched. So…I’m gonna go sharpen my nails.

  6. Ugh! I’ve heard that kidney stones are more painful than childbirth so I’m glad to hear that your wife (and you) are doing better.

    Hope you’re back at 100% soon! I know sometimes I get so busy (or sick) that I can’t blog and I definitely understand that feeling of finding all of these things you’d like to comment on but just can’t and by the time you can, you just don’t feel the same level of intensity about it due to the march of time.

  7. I’ve heard that kidney stones are more painful than childbirth

    You heard right. When I first took my wife to the ER, she was asked to rate the pain on a scale of 1-10. Through gritted teeth, she said, “Well, I’ve been through childbirth and gallbladder colic, and this is worse. This is a 10.”

  8. Oh, man, my two least favorite things – puking and intense, excruciating pain. When I was in the ER with a rupturing gall bladder, I was told that if I could handle that, childbirth would be a snap (thanks, though, I’m all set!).

    So, sending get-better thoughts your way, to both of you.

Leave a Reply

