Getting Our Game On

When I was given my library’s teen website as part of my web content responsibilities, I was signed up for the library’s Gaming committee. The Gaming committee has already put on one gaming tournament for teens, and the second one is this coming Friday. It will be my first time working at a gaming event at MPOW. If everything goes according to plan, I’ll be liveblogging the event, posting updates (and maybe even pictures) to our teen site. So, if you have nothing better to do on Friday afternoon (noon-6, Central Time), check out JoCoTeenScene for updates on the great Johnson County, KS Guitar Hero III tournament.

UPDATE: I’ve been told we have 136 people registered for the event, people being put on a waiting list, and have had other patrons ask about just coming to watch the tournament. We’re getting a lot of interest in this event, and I think that’s just swell!

4 thoughts on “Getting Our Game On

  1. I will keep my eye on how things go for you.
    Curious as to the format of the tourney, single elimination, double?
    The one I am planning will be limited to about 20 players, 16 spots, with 4 alternates. Oh, just noticed you have it planned for 6 hours….wow! Drink lots of fluids.

    way to go Neff….

    See people this is why the Joshua Neff rules!

  2. Nah, I don’t rule–I just follow. (Which I say because the tournament was very much not my idea. The only part I’ve had to play in it is writing the promotional blog posts and coming up with the idea of liveblogging the event.)

  3. Have you contacted RedOctane? The will be helping us out with schwag and some promo stuff.

  4. As far as I know, we haven’t (but I could be wrong). I do know that all of our prizes and a lot of the organization and promotion is being handled by GameStop, who is sponsoring the event.

Leave a Reply

