…On the Way to the Forum

In my other life in the world of tabletop role-playing games, I’ve been participating in online web forums for years. I’ve become a big fan of this form of asynchronous conversation, liking them much more than email lists or Usenet groups (even if they have approximately the same number of idiotic flamewars).

I love the Meebo chat room for the Library Society of the World, but I’ve been pretty busy at work and home lately, and I haven’t found the time to log in to chat as much as I used to. Now Tangler has appeared, a free web forum site, and I decided to try adding asynchronous conversation to the LSW mix (beyond the wiki, which is so-so for this kind of thing). I created a Library Society forum the other day and sent out some invitations, but it’s an open forum, so anyone can sign up and join in on the conversation. It’s definitely an experiment, and so far I haven’t seen an outpouring of posting on the forum. Past library forums I’ve seen haven’t really overflowed with conversation either, so maybe library folk just aren’t into forums that much (it seems to me their either heavily invested in email lists, which I pretty much detest, or stick with blogs, IMing and Twitter), but we’ll see how it goes. If it suits your fancy, go ahead and join in the forum. Add to the conversations and start your own topics.

One thought on “…On the Way to the Forum

  1. I know what you’re saying about forums, but I’m hopeful that the LSW will be beneficial. I don’t log into the chat room as much as I like because of time, and lately I’ve even been experiencing a bit of Twitter overload. Who knew that librarians on Twitter would be so chatty? Sometimes it’s hard to keep up with everything all at once. 🙂

    Even if the forum isn’t used often, it would probably be a good way to send out information to people where you know they are likely to see it. I’ve set up my settings for a digest in email so I know I will be getting notifications on new messages anyway.

    It’s always good to try out new things to see what will work and what doesn’t though. Thank you again for setting this up, and thank you again for loosely organizing LSW!

Leave a Reply

