The Wiki Project III: It’s Alive!

A year and a half ago, at my former place of work, a coworker and I came up with the idea of ripping off the St. Joseph County Public Library‘s subject guides wiki to replace the HTML pages we had that provided web links to users of our web site. I was appointed head of a “wiki task force,” presented a proposal to the Web Committee and library supervisors, got everything approved, recruited reference staff, and started the ball rolling.

Unfortunately, I completely underestimated how much work it would take, how much I would need to get everyone else on board, how much training and advice staff would need–basically, I underestimated everything, and the project stalled and slowed down before I left to come to my current job.

But I’m very happy to say the project didn’t die, and the Olathe Public Library Subject Guides wiki has officially gone live! It’s in the basic, starter stage right now, but I expect it will grow at a nice pace now that it’s up and running for the public. Check out the wiki and let them know what you think in the comments on their blog.

3 thoughts on “The Wiki Project III: It’s Alive!

  1. “Project Management for Libraries: Lessons Learned.” You know you want to!

  2. It takes the hassle of trying to figure out how to find something. Looks very user friendly. The wiki is very impressive!
    Darlene (Mom)

  3. You should leave a comment on their blog (or take their survey) and let them know that, Darlene.

Leave a Reply

