Return of the NEKLS Tech Day Wrap-Up

Life has kind of been kicking me in the tush lately (which is one of the primary reasons I haven’t blogged much lately), and to be perfectly frank, I wasn’t looking forward to Tech Day this year. I just wasn’t feeling up to it. I was actually feeling pretty blasé about libraries in general (which is another reason why I haven’t been blogging much lately).

I’m happy to say I had a terrific time at Tech Day, and I’m very, very glad I went. In fact, I think this was the best Tech Day I’ve been to yet. Props to Sharon Moreland, newly established in her position at NEKLS, for her first time at organizing Tech Day. I expected Michael Porter to give a good keynote, but it was even better than I thought it would be, full of inspiring enthusiasm, curiosity and love for libraries, freedom, open source technology. Power to the people!

I had a good time hanging out with my coworkers and friends like Bobbi Newman and Royce Kitts (who deserves many congratulations for finishing library school and getting the job of Director of the Tonganoxie Public Library–both at the same time!), chatting with librarians from all over Kansas, playing video games and talking about the future of libraries. Tech Day was exactly what the doctor ordered for me.

3 thoughts on “Return of the NEKLS Tech Day Wrap-Up

  1. It was good to have you at Tech Day. I agree with you it was one of the best yet!

  2. This was my first Tech Day so I can’t compare. I do know it was wonderful to be around so many smart, energized people! Thanks KS for letting me crash! 🙂

  3. Yeah it was awesome. Porter is one of a kind. Usually keynotes bore me to tears, he was fun. I am so glad to be a part of NEKLS. I can’t count how many people came up to me and congratulated me and told me if i ever needed anything to give them a call. It is nice to be part of a community such as this.

    I am also glad that you made it Neff. It just wouldn’t have felt real without you.

    And dammit, wear a bowtie next time!!!

Leave a Reply

