Must Be the Season of the 50,000-Word Novel

NaNoWriMo starts tomorrow, and I’m doing it again. The first time I did it was on my own in February, 2005. I had something to prove to myself: that I could actually start and finish writing a story longer than 10 pages. I did it and am still proud of the result. I did NaNoWriMo again the next year in the official month of November. But this time, I got bored and frustrated enough with the story I was writing to quit halfway through.

This time, I don’t feel like I have anything to prove to myself. I’m doing NaNoWriMo purely for the enjoyment of writing a story and continuing with that story for a full month. I’m not even thinking of this as a first draft. I’m not planning on showing this story to anyone. I just want to be in that mode of creative play, like when I was a kid, unselfconscious and dreaming out loud.

So, don’t expect a whole lot of blogging this month. I’m hoping to be too engrossed in telling a story to myself. See you all later!

2 thoughts on “Must Be the Season of the 50,000-Word Novel

  1. Well, you could try something less stressful like NaBloPoMo….

  2. I would find daily blog posting far more stressful than writing a novel in a month.

    But I did just subscribe to your new blog, so…get writing!

Leave a Reply

