Thanks

This has not been the best year of my life, which is particularly bad as I was saying the same thing last year. It hasn’t been all sewage and shadows–I’ve had some really good times this year. But it feels like the bad has exceeded the good, in effect if not in actual instance. There’s been a whole lotta feh this year, is what I’m saying.

So I’ll gladly take this day to give thanks to all the good, to polish the sunlight and kick depression in the kneecaps.

I’m thankful that Julie and I found each other and continue to discover good things about each other. I’m thankful I get to be Morgan’s father and have her in my life. I’m thankful my parents (in-blood and in-law) are doing relatively well. I’m thankful my siblings (sister, brother and sister-in-law) and their beautiful children are doing well.

I’m also thankful this is the last Thanksgiving I’ll ever have with George W. Bush, Dick Cheney and their whole cabal in the White House. I will sing and dance when the Worst President Ever leaves Washington. These are bad, bad people, and I want them out of my life.

As my friend Steve Lawson says, I’m thankful for the internet and the World Wide Web. (I’ll throw in cell phones and other information-communication devices, too.) I’m not sure I would have made it through this year without the friendship of the amazing people I’ve met and grown to love online. I’ve also reconnected with old friends because of the internet. This is really a fantastic time to be alive, and I’m thankful that I am alive to live through this and enjoy it. To all of my friends, near and far: thank you.

6 thoughts on “Thanks

  1. Happy Thanksgiving, Josh!

    I’m thankful that you have everything you listed above. And I’m thankful to have encountered you online. I think that you and Julie are each extraordinary, fascinating people. And thanks to you and the rest of the original crew for LSW, which has changed my personal and professional life.

    Martha

  2. Happy Thanksgiving Josh!
    Even though we are 562 miles away, Julie, Morgan and you are in our hearts every day of the year.
    Things are getting better everywhere. After eight miserable years, Barack will lead us out of the Bush-pit. Say hi to our extended family (Jeremy, Stacy, Auggie, Rick and Stacy’s mom).
    Love,
    Mom (Darlene) & Dad (Gary)
    P.S. Say hi to Rachel, Joan and DeShawn too!

  3. …and we’re all thankful for you being in this world with us.

  4. Ditto Rick Neff. Thankful that you are here and that I’ve gotten to know you!

  5. Sending good thoughts your way, Josh. Stay in the game, as I know things will get better soon for you.

  6. I don’t know why I didn’t see this when you posted it, but ditto. I’m glad to know you.

Leave a Reply

