The Next Doctor

This isn’t a review of the most recent Doctor Who Christmas Special (although I will say that I quite liked it and thought David Morrissey was very good) but my thoughts on the announcement of the actor to play the Eleventh Doctor.

I was not familiar with Matt Smith before today. Personally, I was sort of hoping they’d go with an actor older than David Tennant, and I think Paterson Joseph would be smashing in the part. But I think Steven Moffat is all kinds of smart, so if he feels Matt Smith is right for the role, that’s good enough for me. After watching an interview with him about getting the part of the Doctor, I will say that I like his enthusiasm and reverence for the part. The changing of the Doctor is always an interesting part of the program, so as much as I love David Tennant as the Doctor, I’m really excited to see the show change.

2 thoughts on “The Next Doctor

  1. I saw Matt Smith in the Ruby in the Smoke with Billie Piper, and I liked him a lot, so I am hopeful, though I will miss David Tennant enormously.

  2. I think there should be a word that describes a collective groan of dismay, but hedged with a wee bit of hopeful optimism. Until this nuanced word is created, I think “Matt Smith” will do. The good thing about Doctor Who is that even if it jumps the shark with it’s casting, there’s always a mechanism to bring it back.

    I was hoping for Hugh Laurie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

