LSW for LFPL

Because I am a huge geek, one of my big inspirations for the naming & iconography of the Library Society of the World was a comic book superhero group like the Justice Society of America. But in the real world, we’re not superheroes, we’re just regular people doing our best in life.

Still, there are times when I’m particularly proud to be associated with the LSW, and this is one of those times. My fellow carping nerdboy Steve Lawson has started a drive to collect money to donate to the Louisville Free Public Library, which has recently been hit by disastrous flash flooding. I’m thrilled that Steve has taken the initiative to do this and to do it in the name of the LSW. I’m also thrilled that people have actually been donating. I’ll admit, as a public librarian in Kansas, I don’t exactly have loads of money to throw around, but I did make a small donation.

Please help out the Louisville Free Public Library in any way you can, either by donating through PayPal, sending a check to the Library Society of the World Clubhouse (PO Box 7893, Colorado Springs CO 80933) or sending a check directly to:

The Library Foundation
Attn: Flood
301 York St.
Louisville, KY 40203
(502) 574-1709

I know this is extraordinarily corny to say, but you really don’t have to be a superhero to do good in the world.

5 thoughts on “LSW for LFPL

  1. But in the real world, we’re not superheroes, we’re just regular people doing our best in life.

    **

    Dude…you will always be my superhero

  2. Aw, get out! šŸ™‚

  3. Excellent! One of the things we did in New Jersey, when libraries (along with fully a third of the entire state) were flooded by Hurricane Floyd (1999) was to collect second or third copies of books from the dry NJ libraries, and send them off to the flooded libraries. I’ll bet they’re doing that in Kentucky, too.

  4. Would it be worth emailing BoingBoing (or some other high-traffic blog) and seeing if they’d be willing to post something about the library with a request for donations? I just thought of BoingBoing because of the sinister Cory Doctorow-LSW axis.

  5. That’s a great idea, Steven!

Leave a Reply

