I Was Only Dreaming…

I had a long, elaborate dream last night. That’s not unusual for me, but this dream was impossible to sum up in 140 characters, unlike a lot of my other dreams. It’s stuck with this morning, so I thought I’d blog about it.

In my dream, I was hanging out with an aging rock star, a Mick Jagger-type in his early 60s. He acted very flamboyant and effeminate, and many of the other people hanging around with us suspected him of being homosexual. He swore that he wasn’t and made frequent remarks about “shagging lots of babes,” although no one ever actually saw him being physical with women. I also frequently got the impression he was subtly hitting on me. Finally, when the two of us were alone, he confessed that he was more attracted to men than to women, but because he’d grown up in a situation where that was frowned upon, he didn’t really know how to handle it or how to express it publicly. I began talking to him about how sexuality isn’t really binary, that nobody is really “straight” or “gay,” and he needed to accept that he was simply attracted to who he was attracted to, and as long as it was all consensual and adult, it was perfectly fine. I also suggested he seek out a good therapist who could help him come to terms with his sexuality.

(Gee, I’m really wise in my dreams!)

Then the rock star and I went with some friends to a shopping mall that mostly catered to “alternative” folks: supermarkets that sold health food, imports and organics; movie theaters that showed foreign and independent films; occult bookstores. The shopping center was familiar to me; I was sure I’d dreamed about it before. But when I woke up, I realized I can’t actually remember having dreamed about it before last night.

It’s fascinating to me how dream characters and dream locations can seem so familiar in the dream, evoking feelings and emotions so deep that upon awaking, you still feel drawn to these nonexistent people and places. I’ve had at least two dreams set in a city that I was sure was the same city, but who can really say? Dreams are ephemeral, yet they often stick with us long after we’ve awaken. They’re disjointed and illogical, but they often hold some inner sense and logic to them.

Dreams are funny things. And thank goodness for that.

Leave a Reply

