My Show Would Be a Critical Hit

I have an idea for a TV show. Like Glee, it would be about a group of geeky, outsider kids at a small town high school. But instead of being members of a glee club performing musical numbers, the kids would all play a Dungeons & Dragons-type role-playing game together. The “real world” scenes would be intercut with scenes of the player characters adventuring in a fantasy world. The kids would have to deal with school bullies, disapproving parents, teen angst and game group drama.

Well…I’d watch a show like that, at least. Would anyone else?

7 thoughts on “My Show Would Be a Critical Hit

  1. I think I’ve heard of The Gamers, but I haven’t watched it. I’ll have to check it out.

    I’d want this show to have a group of kids of various genders, sexual preferences and ethnicities. I wouldn’t want the kids to be comically “nerdy” (in the sense of being the gamer stereotype of socially ignorant, obnoxious, rude and overweight). Like Glee, I want the kids to be characters you can love and root for, and I want the gaming to be a positive thing, not something to be mocked. Playing RPGs helps the kids and makes them better people. In the show, playing RPGs should look like a fun activity that people would want to do, not annoying bickering over rules and “Who finished off the Cheetos?”

  2. Why don’t you pitch it? It’s worth a shot, isn’t it? I know I would certainly watch it…(how big do you think the gaming community is? How many of them watch tv?) 🙂

  3. Heh. I wouldn’t know who to pitch it to. It’s not like I have loads of connections in the wacky world of TV. But thanks for the support! 🙂

  4. Wow! Thanks, Susanne!

Leave a Reply

