Castrovalva

If you’ve been reading my blog and/or following me on Twitter, Facebook or Google+, you know that I’ve been going through a very rough patch of depression and anxiety for a while now.

It’s Monday morning. I woke up to grey skies and rain. I’m feeling sleepy and sluggish. And yet…

And yet, I feel as if I’ve come through a long slog of stress, agitation, melancholy, hopelessness, worry, fear and general darkness, pushed my way through the shadows and tangles and come out into sunlight and blue skies.

No, the hard times aren’t completely over. Yes, there are still things for me to worry about. But I don’t feel them weighing me down, chipping away at my resolve, wearing away at my soul. I don’t feel as if I’m hopelessly fighting the devil futility. I feel hopeful, capable, enthusiastic and happy. I feel regenerated. I feel better than I have in a long, long time.

About damn time!

6 thoughts on “Castrovalva

  1. Glad to hear it.

    Though, look out for *that* guy. He’s really the Master. Beware recursive geography!

  2. I love my fellow Doctor Who fans!

  3. I hope the mood sustains itself.

  4. Glad you are feeling better, and I, too, hope it continues. And don’t forget to get some Vitamin D when the sun is not shining.

  5. Thanks, Michael. I take a multi-vitamin daily, as well as citalopram (an antidepressant) and, when needed, Xanax. (Lovely, lovely Xanax!) I need to get back into taking fish oil pills for Omega-3s, because those reportedly also help with brain chemistry. And I want to find a psychologist I can work with.

    All of this, of course, is much easier when I’m feeling less generally depressed and anxious.

Leave a Reply

