Happy Hallowe’en!

Today is one of my favorite holidays, the time when the walls between what-we-know and what-we-dream are particularly thin, a time of masks and costumes and candy, a celebration of the spooky, the mysterious, the surreal.

Sadly, I’ve been far too distracted and disorganized this year to come up with a costume. I don’t even have any of my fallback costumes entirely unpacked. I’m not happy about it, but I’m not going to let it ruin the day for me.

Happy Hallowe’en, everybody!

2 thoughts on “Happy Hallowe’en!

  1. Happy Halloween to YOU!!! This IS my favorite day of the year. The season starts on Sept. 23rd for me and it builds and builds up to today and I’m like a little kid on my super-sugar candy buzz! I LOVE this day!
    I was asked about that recently, why Halloween’s my favorite holiday. I told my friend I thought it was probably because, to me, the day represents unfettered freedom, a day of complete creativity and endless possibility.
    My mom isn’t a big fan of Halloween; she doesn’t mind the day, itself (especially since we come from witchy family) but all the fuss and work and effort involved, it just doesn’t do it for her. As soon as I was old enough to be able to make decorations or costumes, Halloween became my duty. I decorated the house, I dressed the siblings. Mom would walk with us trick-or-treating, but I got us singing songs and pulling pranks.
    I told Gabe, last night, about my best Halloween ever. When I was 7, my youngest sister was born and when she was done with the bassinet in my parents’ room, she needed her own room. We were all shuffled around and I wound up with my very own room (I’d been sharing with my sister) in the basement, far away from everyone, all by myself. It had a normal-sized sliding window on the south side that sat above a ledge (perfect for egress and re-entry) and a window on the east side that was really small and high up (cuz it was the basement). If I stood on my tippy toes on the headboard and clutched the window sill with my fingers, I could juuuust see out that window, mostly into the sky, but I could see the roof of the neighbor’s house and some trees, too.
    Come Halloween night, we’d had our fun and it was time for bed. I was still full of sugar, magic, autumn wind and crispy leaves. I could just feel Halloween in the air! I put on my pajamas, jumped on the bed a bit, zipped around the room and finally, I was ready to settle down. (You can’t do those things when your room is next to that of your parents) I had to take one last look outside, though, into the night sky. There was a full moon and it was just visible outside my little window. I climbed up on the headboard, reached up to the window sill, pulled myself up to tippy toes and looked at the big, white, round moon. Just then, a witch flew in front of it, perfectly silhouetted. My mouth dropped open and I jumped down and dove under the covers and giggled in the dark.
    I don’t think about it too often because, as an adult, I don’t want to explain it to myself. I just want to remember the most perfect Halloween ever.
    I hope you’ve enjoyed my hijacking of YOUR post to make it all about me. That’s the Trick part of “trick or treat” >:D

  2. Erica, I love Hallowe’en for similar reasons. And that is a terrific story! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

