Who Am I?

At the risk of being incredibly egocentric, I’d like to ask people to post a comment below, answering this question: how would you describe me to someone who didn’t know me?

I’ve been going through a period of intense self-reflection and therapy. I’m coming to a better understanding of why my faults are my faults and how I do (and don’t) deal with them. I’m also getting a better understanding of what my good qualities are. But because I’m doing a lot of self-reflection, and because I spend a lot of time in my head in general, it’s difficult for me to see myself as others see me. So I’m asking for some feedback.

I’m not looking for unbridled ego-stroking, but I’m also not looking for any “hard truths” about my faults. I know what my faults are, thank you very much. I’m really just curious to know how you would describe me to someone who doesn’t know me.

16 thoughts on “Who Am I?

  1. Smart and funny…but old, because you like music from the 80’s. *gasp*

  2. Since I have never met you personally I can’t speak with authority, you understand… however, I do have a few thoughts.

    1. You are responsive to your friends. When someone posts something on Twitter you are usually right back on it. I know that I can throw something out there in the randomness that is most Tweets and you will usually @ me back right away.

    2. You are a geeker, a gamer and a comic enthusiast. People outside of those circles might not always get you, but they still appreciate you.

    3. You seem to prefer the company of women over men. I have noticed that is usually the case with men who are more sensitive than might be considered “average”. I think the reason that some men like to be around women more is that they get emotional support and understanding that they don’t find in their male friends. My best friends are guys and I know that the same is true for me. I am not all that emotional and the company of women tends to annoy me.

    4. As long as you care about who you are, how you see yourself, how others see you and what the world is getting from you, you are doing a good job with yourself. The ones that are problems are the ones that care nothing for anyone or anything that doesn’t directly contribute to their happiness. Since you are even asking the questions you are, means you are an interesting and interested person and I would introduce you to my friends – if I could tell you who they are.

    I hope these answers are some of what you are looking for. You can chat me up on Twitter if you have any questions or want to clarify anything I have said. Have a great weekend!

  3. I’d tell them that my friend Josh is sharp and funny, though plagued by depression and anxiety. I’d tell them that Josh is into a lot of great geeky stuff like RPGs, comics, internet culture, and so on. I’d tell them that Josh is a bit of a romantic and a lot of a flirt. I’d say that Josh likes to tell stories, and sometimes you can wind him up and watch him go, but that this doesn’t mean he’s self-centered, because he likes to hear a good story, too. I’d tell them, “Josh is a cool guy. I think you are going to like him.”

  4. I actually just had to do this…. Describe you to someone who doesn’t know you. I said you were a brilliant, hot librarian who knows their shit and isn’t afraid to show it off.

  5. Courageously open and supportive. I found you at the right time. 🙂

  6. Josh is talkative, outgoing, thoughtful, enthusiastic and has a romantic and perhaps idealistic perspective on the past…

  7. Josh is a cute, smart, cheeky, geeky librarian from my Intarwebs.

  8. Since I just did describe you to my friends at the restaurant, I will tell you exactly what I said: He is very dear, fun, smart, and witty. He is having problems with anxiety right now, so I don’t think it would be good to ask him to join us, but he really is a love!

  9. To me you are – that guy online who is a librarian superhero and posts photos of himself regularly that make me smile. You are caring, responsive and I’m thankful I bumped into you on Twitter

  10. Thank you all for the comments. As well as being incredibly flattered, I have a better idea of how my friends and acquaintances see me, which is very helpful in a therapeutic sense.

  11. Josh…

    You’re a delightful geek of the best kind: into science fiction, libraries, roleplaying, old comic books, and Dada. You’ve got a heart of gold and an enthusiasm for life that threatens to drag everyone with you into your infectious optimism. You’re a mushy sentimentalist who loves love, who pours his heart into his relationships (not just romantic ones but certainly those too), sometimes to the point of detriment but always with the best of intention. Most of all, you’re somebody I love and respect and admire.

  12. Also: a fantastic writer, sensual and sensuous in every sense of the words, and quite handsome with gorgeous eyes and a genuine smile that makes you all the more huggable. 🙂

  13. OK, Anna, now you’re making me blush!

  14. I would describe you as witty, funny, and caring, and that you don’t give yourself enough credit. You have doubts and anxiety, and you’re really good about trying to work through those, and admitting when you’re having a tough time. You’re really open about your feelings, which is something that’s amazingly tough for most people, so you’re brave. I think you’re a pretty cool guy, and I’m glad you’re on a journey to figure out how awesome you are.

  15. Kudos for putting tis our there. Since I don’t really know you (just follow you on twitter and read your blog every once in a while) I can’t really answer, other than to say kudos again!

  16. Thanks, guys! I really appreciate the feedback and the compliments.

Leave a Reply

