42

I’m 42 years old now. (Edit: As of this past December.) This morning, I realized…

  • I can finally grow some decent facial hair (if I wanted to, but I don’t);
  • I’m learning to deal with the death of a parent;
  • I’m finally learning how to handle my money and pay down my debts;
  • I’m learning how to deal with my anxiety and depression in a constructive way.

I don’t know if 42 really is the “Answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, the Universe, and Everything,” but it’s turning out to be a very significant number to me.

7 thoughts on “42

  1. Happy Birthday, Neff! šŸ˜€

  2. Thanks! My birthday was actually in December. I just started reflecting on this stuff this morning. Maybe I should have made that more clear?

  3. 42 is the most awesome number in the universe and is the perfect age to make great strides in personal achievement…wow, that sounded like a fortune cookie. Maybe I should cut back on the Chinese food. šŸ˜€

    Insightful as always, Josh. šŸ˜€

  4. Andrew, you forgot to add “in bed.”

    And thank you. šŸ™‚

  5. I’d forgotten how close we are in age.

    I’m finding the early 40s to be a time of new growth, or at least a time of deepening the complexity of my lack of understanding.

    Mostly, it’s got to do with being able to see when I’m actually good at something, and to appreciate those things.

    I’m also finding myself idly wishing for a do-over on my adult life. Well, do-over is the wrong phrase; I don’t want to erase who I’ve become or what I’ve done, I just want to be able to have the perks and advantages of a pre-diabetes, pre-achey joints young body to house my charm and wisdom.

  6. I just want to be able to have the perks and advantages of a pre-diabetes, pre-achey joints young body to house my charm and wisdom.

    Don’t we all want that? Maybe it’s time to regenerate this body of mine…

  7. I hope to live long enough to see the advent of clone replacement bodies.

Leave a Reply

