Enter, Stage Left

I’m teaching a class on e-readers for library staff this afternoon. Although when I say “teach,” I mean I lead and facilitate discussion, presenting some basic information, riffing off of major topics.

I love presenting and leading discussions, but every time I do it, I get terrible stage fright before hand. Once the presentation starts, I forget all about my anxiety, but before hand, it’s pretty potent stuff.

Which means right now, my heart is racing and I’m really on edge. I want to cry, run away from everything, and curl up into a ball on the floor. At the same time, I know that once the class starts, I’ll have a really good time and I’ll be too involved in what’s going on to be scared. But damn, it’s really annoying while the stage fright is going on.

I’ve read that Henry Fonda threw up from stage fright before every performance. I know there are other performers who experience terrible anxiety before they perform. I know I’m not alone in this. Which is good to know.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to do some more deep breathing before my class begins.

Leave a Reply

