Tumbledown

Autumn is my favorite season. I’ve been looking forward to this time of year…well, all summer. As the temperatures dropped and the leaves began to change color, I could feel excitement, enthusiasm, and energy building inside of me. As I type this, I’m sitting at the desk in our office at home, the window in front of me open, the best weather I can imagine drifting in.

So it’s particularly frustrating that I’ve suddenly been hit by a wave of depression. Since Tuesday, I’ve wanted nothing more than to hide from the world, curl into a ball, and cry about…nothing. I’ve been getting persistent headaches. The things that usually make me happy aren’t making me that happy. I feel sad, bored, frustrated, useless.

I’m doing my best to take it easy on myself, not push myself too hard to “suck it up and deal.” My new work position involves a lot of moving around and interacting with people, which definitely helps. And I keep reminding myself that (and this is important for everyone to remember, so I’m making this big and bold) DEPRESSION LIES. I might feel like I suck and that nothing I do is worth doing, but I’m also consciously aware that this isn’t true.

If anyone else out there is dealing with something similar right now, remember that this is temporary. It sucks, but it doesn’t last. And you’re not alone. We’re all in this together.

Leave a Reply

