Regular Americans

You know, Barack Obama may not be my first choice for president (I’m really more of a Green Party guy, but I can’t imagine seeing a Green Party president any time soon), but at least when he talks about “regular Americans,” it’s clear he’s talking about the 99% of us who aren’t kajillionaires. He’s talking about men and women as equals. He’s talking about liberals, moderates, conservatives, two-parent families and single-parent families, people who are straight, people who are gay and lesbian, people who are bi, people who are transgender, Caucasians and People of Color, Christians, Jews, Muslims, Sikhs, Buddhists, atheists, and so on. Just as it’s clear that when Romney, Ryan and other GOP politicians talk about “real Americans,” they’re not being nearly that inclusive. To them, people who aren’t completely heterosexual, people who aren’t Judeo-Christian, people who aren’t Caucasian, people who are politically and socially liberal, people on welfare–those people are The Other. I could never vote for a political party as exclusionary and exclusive as the Republican Party.

11 thoughts on “Regular Americans

  1. Considering the politics of Instapundit, I don’t take that as a credible source for anything, unless you count right-wing propaganda as “credible.” Which I don’t. You might as well use Fox News as a source.

    And considering how exclusionary the GOP is–in its platform, in its advertisements, in its language–I think complaining that an Obama add calling Mitt Romney “not one of us” is cheap whining for attention, nothing more.

  2. I know what you mean. I considered my presidential vote at great length this year. Living in North Dakota, I have no illusions that a liberal candidate of any party will win our electoral votes for President. But I agonized over whether to vote for the independent candidate who truly matches my beliefs rather than the democratic candidate, because every independent vote is essentially making it easier for the Republican candidate to win. In the end I decided that my vote is unlikely to break a tie anyway, so I followed my heart. (I mailed my absentee ballot earlier this week)

  3. Since I do not live in Ohio, neither major party thinks I am one of them. Oh, if a Green gets a few votes in Florida the Democratic entitlement thing kicks in and they suddenly think they are entitled to ,y, and all, non-Republican votes, but mostly they don’t care. Republicans cared deeply for me when I was a fetus, but not much since then. I live in Illinois. A vote for either major party will have no meaning here at all. :. JILL STEIN 2012!! That way, on election night when they show the counts on TV and I see a couple onscreen for Stein I will shout “I’M ONE OF THOSE 5 VOTES FOR THE GREEN! Its all very exciting.

  4. Kansas will obviously go to Romney, but I’m pretty confident Obama will win a second term, so I’m probably going to cast my presidential vote for Jill Stein. But otherwise, I’m voting Democrat. Voting for the GOP, the party of Straight White Males, is not an option.

  5. I think Eric is exactly right – the election at this point is probably going to hinge on Ohio. I thought Florida was going to be important but it seems we are firmly in the Romney camp at this point.

    And for the record, Glenn Reynolds is actually much more of an Libertarian than a Republican http://pjmedia.com/instapundit/134326/ although that particular post was by Ed Driscoll.

  6. Ugh, don’t even get me started on Libertarianism!

  7. I’m a little more awake now, so I’ll say this:

    Michael, one ad for Obama saying Mitt Romney “isn’t one of us” is not “playing the Other card” and certainly doesn’t come close to equaling how the Republican Party constantly excludes and demonizes People of Color, LGBT people, people on welfare, “California liberals,” immigrants, Muslims, atheists…I could go on. So whoever first made the blog post, it’s a bullshit post and really has no relevance to what I’ve written.

  8. Josh, you and I are just going to have disagree on this point. The entire Obama campaign has been based on making Romney the other: he’s rich and his cars have elevators and he keeps his money in shady foreign accounts; he’s a vulture capitalist who enjoys draining companies dry and watching women die of cancer without health insurance; he’s a Mormon from a long line of polygamists and they were the bad guys in Riders of the Purple Sage (okay – I made that last part up). All the campaign advertising I have seen of late is Romney talking about creating jobs and boosting the economy and Obama talking about Romney’s tax rate.

    In my experience it isn’t that Republicans are exclusionary – it is that Democrats spend a great deal of time and effort trying to people into predefined subcategories and then convince them that membership in that group should be their primary and only concern. And woe unto any member of one of those groups who dares to question their place.

    I voted for McCain last time but wasn’t particularly bothered when Obama won because I thought that they were both mediocre candidates. But after 4 years of total amateur hour in the White House, I honestly don’t understand how anyone can support Obama this time around. Even if Romney turns out to bad, we can vote him out in 2016 and try again – and bad is better than disastrous. There are some real issues that need to be seriously considered and Obama hasn’t even shown any interest in them, let alone any ability to actually do something.

  9. Michael, you clearly see things very differently than I do, so I don’t know what to say in response except to just shrug my shoulders.

    Except, since this is my blog and it’s my prerogative, I’ll say this: calling Romney “rich and out of touch with middle-class Americans” is very different from consistently painting the president as “an un-American foreigner,” calling his US birth into question, calling his outlook “anti-colonial,” and accusing him of being a “secret Muslim” (which of course implies there’s something wrong with being a Muslim). You’re defending a political party that has made it clear it’s opposed to women having control over their own bodies, has no interest in making sure women are treated equally to men in the workplace, and are opposed to equality for LGBT people. Many GOP politicians have made it very clear that they consider the US a Christian nation and that “Christian values” should take precedence over any others, including enshrining these “Christian values” into law. There is no way that’s an inclusive, open political party that welcomes Americans of all varieties.

    And that article about Jill Stein you linked to is excellent. I support every single thing she talks about. I think it’s well past time the US had a new New Deal and universal healthcare is long overdue.

Leave a Reply

