Graturday 5

This has been a pretty ragged week. I was in a car accident on Tuesday, which not only threw off my writing mojo (I obviously haven’t blogged at all this week, but I also haven’t worked on any poetry or fiction) but will potentially do some heavy damage to my bank account. It’s looking like my car is totaled, which is something I really didn’t need right now. So it’s more important than ever for me to focus on the good and be thankful for what I have.

1. I’m grateful that none of the three vehicles involved in the accident had any passengers, just drivers. The chance for injury would have been much greater with more people involved.

2. I’m grateful that none of the drivers were seriously injured. No ambulances were needed, all three drivers were able to drive away from the scene of the accident (even if not all of the cars could), and all I’ve had since the accident was a very mild concussion (pressure headache and a couple instances of minor dizziness) that faded after a couple of days.

3. I’m grateful that everyone I’ve had to deal with regarding the accident–the two company that got my car from the scene of the accident, all of the State Farm reps I’ve dealt with, and the mechanic at the body shop where my car was towed to–have been friendly, funny, compassionate, and helpful.

All in all, this situation could have been much worse than it turned out. Phew!

