There is a Light That Never Goes Out

Ray Bradbury has passed away. I got the news at work and broke down crying. I couldn’t stop crying, so I left work. I still have tears in my eyes as I write this.

He was 91 and lived a life stuffed so full of experiences and dreams, you can’t say he left this world too early. I had a gut feeling he wasn’t long for this world. But to have him go so soon after my dad’s passing is really, really difficult for me.

In many ways, I considered Bradbury a father figure, even though we never met and he had no idea I even existed. Without knowing me, he taught me, he encouraged me, he inspired me. I’ve had so much love and admiration for him, my heart is fit to burst right now.

Last year, I wrote this letter to him. I should have mailed it to him, just on the off chance he’d actually read it, but…oh well. Another writer who has touched my life, J.M. DeMatteis, wrote, “Unfold your soul and let his words wash over you.  If you’re a budding writer, he’ll fill you with burning passion for your chosen field.  If you’re an old hand like me, he’ll make you feel like a newborn, just beginning on the most miraculous path God ever created.  And if you’re not a writer, I suspect he’ll touch and move you in surprising ways that will echo on through your heart—and through your life.”

To be honest, I haven’t felt like I’ve been living life as fully as I could. I’ve been walking when I should be running. I’ve been working when I should be playing. I haven’t been writing like I’ve wanted to. I haven’t had the trust in myself that I should have. I’m sorry, Ray. I’ll do better. I know you wouldn’t want me to do anything less than to live life to the fullest.

Rest in peace, Ray. Your body has gone cold, but the fire you started will never die. You really did it, huh? You’re going to live forever.

2 thoughts on “There is a Light That Never Goes Out

  1. His was definitely a life worth celebrating.

  2. Omg of course! Ray Bradbury touched more than one generation and more to come I hope. My first read was Martian Chronicles as a young teen. My late father idolized Bradbury, long before the first step on the moon, and we had all his books in the house for us kids to sample. To my students I say, hey, want to read something REALLY great?! I will pay homage to him in the last days of school. I hope it will have an impact! I’m always hoping!

Leave a comment